Megan B. AvatarMegan B.

5 star rating Best dish I had on the big island - the risotto was out of this world. If we ever make it back to the big island, we will definitely be coming back here. Also, great view of the water - 3 days ago 

Sheena J. AvatarSheena J.

5 star rating When we were in Kona we had breakfast and lunch here a few times. The food was great. The servings were large and the service was great!! The view is amazing of course!! - 4 days ago 

R M. AvatarR M.

4 star rating Good food, beautiful view, nice and open layout. Overpriced for sure, but definitely a place you have to try - 1 week ago 

Emily H. AvatarEmily H.

5 star rating Make a reservation. They solve all your problems. Service was great. Thanks Jenny. We enjoyed Jenny's knowledge of the menu and recommendations.

Great location for walking around and site seeing before and after dinner lots of other places to stop for drinks nearby.

Get a table by the windows for a view but also lots of super loud cars going by - 1 week ago 

erika c. Avatarerika c.

5 star rating I LOVE THIS PLACE! This restaurant is more on the pricey side but the quality of food is pretty good for what you're paying for. I only gave this restaurant five stars because of the outstanding service here. My family and I were in a rush and our server kindly rushed the food for us! Not only that but the other servers gave us regular refills and were really on top of it. when we asked a server for condiments they gave it to us right away! once again amazing service here. - 2 weeks ago 

Seth M. AvatarSeth M.

5 star rating Honestly one of the best fish dishes I've ever had! I was a little skeptical because this looked like a tourist joint, but i am super impressed!! Get the red pepper mahimahi!! - 3 weeks ago 

Faye F. AvatarFaye F.

4 star rating Was a little hesitant to eat here due to the mixed ratings but our friends had been to the Monterey Calif location and enjoyed the food there so figured it can't be that bad.

We made reservations but had to wait a half hour for our table. Totally understandable in this Covid age as the restaurant only had 2 servers available for the entire place. The hostess made that apparent to us as she realized it does impact service.

While we were waiting, we saw a woman raise a ruckus due to delayed sitting because she had a reservation. Totally uncalled for. Her pager had finally beeped and she went up to the hostess, slammed it down, and gave the hostess hell and vented on the manager as well. Privileged and haughty attitude, and totally uncalled for. Her husband refused to come up into the restaurant and she just set a bad example with her un-aloha spirit. She later drove by the restaurant and yelled at the customers waiting in front not to dine there.

Most of the restaurants are closed in the tourist area of Kailua-Kona, and the Fish Hopper is one of the few places open. The hostess is doing the best she can and can only do so much being short-staffed.

Anyway, we finally got our table, and was told that of the 2 servers available, we will be waited on by the manager. I was surprised at how quickly the food came. Drinks were not very good but the food was actually very good. The dining chairs are on its last legs but sufficed.

I realized we are tourists and just have to make the best of the situation, which is 50% capacity in the restaurants and lack of workers. Don't be a "karen". We are all human and the local Hawaiians are doing their best with the resources available in this crazy age of human invasion upon the island. - 3 weeks ago 

Brody C. AvatarBrody C.

5 star rating This is one of the best places to eat in Kona Hawaii. Our treatment by the staff was phenomenal and the food was even better. I recommend the clam chowder by far that has ties to THE Monterey Bay California. The only critique could be the prices of the available dishes, but this downside can be replaced by the upside of the location of this fine establishment. Definitely a must stop if you love good food and good views. - 3 weeks ago 

Julie B. AvatarJulie B.

5 star rating Had a wonderful dinner at Fish Hoppers. The wait staff was great. Tim accommodated my mom's special request and she got exactly what she wanted. The wine was wonderful as was the dessert. There is parking in back and it's popular, so do yourself a favor and make reservations. - 3 weeks ago 

Shawn A. AvatarShawn A.

5 star rating We LOVE the Fish Hopper. It's one of our favorite restaurants in Monterey, CA and we were so stoked to find one in Kona, HI.

Fantastic location downtown Kona with great views of the ocean and people-watching on Ali'i street. Our group of four ordered the bone-in rib eye, seafood pasta, and grilled local fish. Everything was so good!

The cocktails were super fun and creative. Our server was personable and attentive and even learned he used to live in our neighborhood. So cool.

All in all it was a fantastic dinner. These guys understand dining is more than food it is an experience. They gave us a wonderful memory to take back home to CA. - 1 month ago